Home

Today’s task was this area and too my surprise , a lot of things took shape , as I procrastinated about what to with the tangle of honeysuckle my gaze fell onto some paint that was left over from last year and yes I painted the area behind the honeysuckle , nice I thought then I tidied up the bed here and found under one of the trees more tangles of something that must have thrived at some time as there was just as much old growth here as on the honeysuckle so I asked my lovely husband would he do the honours of digging it out as I held the branches back , then I transplanted it in a more open space afraid again to start cutting at it , I will just leave it feed it and water it and see how it goes. I found a trellis of sorts that I had used one year for some sweet peas which I remember gave great colour in the garden so I put this here to the side of the honeysuckle , do you see the fairy? I put her there to cast some magic on the honeysuckle and maybe when I find a picture of what the honeysuckle looks like pruned in February I may get the courage to snip at it , rather pleased with my work today , have a lovely blister between my thumb and finger as proof of my efforts today ha ha. Pas de probleme as the French would say as my challenge tomorrow is to tackle the roses and as I have never pruned a rose before this will be another challenge for me, I will post the pics of the roses after this post in case any of my lovely readers would like to share their knowledge with me of how to prune them etc. Another happy day for me and for this I am grateful. Happy days to all my readers and happy gardening too.

My question today is any ideas on some ground cover to go in their alongside the honeysuckle that would help keep the weeds down and come back year after year?

The last 2 photos are of the plant I found under one of the trees that I transplanted, please feel free to comment , all suggestions welcomed with  happiness.

DSCF0842 DSCF0844 DSCF0845 DSCF0846

DSCF0860 DSCF0862

3 thoughts on “Garden Challenge February 9th 2015

  1. I love the brown twisty bush with the fairy beside it. I like the way you improvise with whatever is at hand. I’ve learned to trust that plants know how to grow themselves if I can figure out how much water they like and how much sunlight. Plants are like cats I think. They have minds of their own and often surprise me. Happy gardening. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

